From Sinatra/Ruby to Martini/Go  

Just spent a day to migrate from Sinatra/Ruby to Martini/Golang.

The urgent for me to do this is because the node I have is Linode 2G. I found that by using two Sinatra app with alexch/rerun, it consume almost 200mb in background.

That’s not good.

Recently I start to play with data in Aozora and create one search engine based on TF-IDF to the novels. I choose Martini because it has similar syntax with Sinatra.

And I happen to find that, it take so little memory in background.

Normally I don’t care about the memory usage. But during data preparation for tf-idf, the app is always killed by system due to short of memory.

Because I need to generate data from 280000+ words with 13000+ novels. The data structure it created cannot be fit into my little web node. I choose to generate the data in my MBPR and try to save into mongodb.

And even the data saving is time-consuming. So it tells me that I should try to reduce the background memory usage. So I do it today.

I must admit that I thought I need more time. But it turns out that dealing with template(.tmpl) and mgo is not that difficult. Because I already have some experience. And I do remove some less used features.

The experience is quite good that I think I can start to continue to replace other feature written in previous app.

 
25
Kudos
 
25
Kudos

Now read this

True color support environment setup

True color support. I tried last week to sync environment between my personal computer (OSX 10.11), remote server (Ubuntu 14.04) and work server station (RHEL 6). The environment I used is Neovim + Tmux + Mosh/SSH + iTerm2. First I use... Continue →