Learning Pattern

Recently I am learning iOS programming through udemy. I take the course created by Rob Percival. I watch first app from this course and also the course in iTune U created by Standford University. Both of them teach from the basic knowledge and spent similar time in first app. But something different.

Basically I prefer learn by doing in hard way. Set the goal and find a way to get there. Google it whenever something wrong and everything should have answer.

But I start go think about it more deeply.

By comparing the two course about iOS programming, the biggest difference I assuming initially is the level of student. I thought teacher in Stanford should expect more knowledge about programming or more smart. But it looks not.

Both of them assume student without background and indeed students taken Stanford course are not all in engineering major. But Stanford does request student to take more difficult homework while udemy is more focus on “really” learning.

I think Stanford and other university is try to force student form into groups and screw their limit to achieve the target knowledge level. But in fact, while leaving the school, I am more comfortable taking the course in udemy. Coursera try to simulate the university style in internet by real professor, assistants and also discussion forum. But I am not quite sure that by trying to duplicate university style of learning environment is good idea.

Goal of learning is new skill and steady of interest in the topic. Whatever the method of learning is used, learner will eventually leave the courses and teachers and need to take his/her own path of learning.

This time I will try to use udemy as learning method. So far so good. I also take another Python learning course for data science and data visualisation.

Exciting so far. And for me, learning with exciting is a good sign.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Return to Sinatra.

It’s surprising to me, too, that I eventually continue to use Sinatra as framework of my site. Maybe the speed of Meteor.js is not impressive enough to me, but the other reason should be that, Sinatra is more acceptable to me. In the... Continue →