True color support environment setup

True color support.

I tried last week to sync environment between my personal computer (OSX 10.11), remote server (Ubuntu 14.04) and work server station (RHEL 6).

The environment I used is Neovim + Tmux + Mosh/SSH + iTerm2.

First I use Neovim to get the True color support. Vim doesn’t not support it. No surprising.

To get true color support, just get the latest version of Neovim. For OSX, just use brew install neovim should be enough. But for Linux, I think it need to build neovim from scratch. So I build it from source code get from Github. For RHEL it maybe a little nasty, most of problem is the installer script need HTTPS support from CURL. Just make sure to include it when compiling.

Second, tmux. Compile tmux is relatively easy, nothing specially. The problem is that one need to remember to set the config. Ref

set -ga terminal-overrides "*88col*:colors=88,*256col*:colors=256,xterm*:colors=256,screen-256color:Tc"

Third, Mosh. One word, Mosh doest not support it yet. So just one choice, use SSH. For me, although auto-reconnect is good feature, but it’s not always a attractive feature when comparing to vision experience. I will use SSH until it support true color.

Last, iTerm2. Actually iTerm2 should do a good job automatically. Or maybe it need Nightly build to get the support, I forgot it. The problem for me is that sometimes I will need to use terminal in Linux environment, so I think I may need to make some setting for Gnome terminal. I will update it later if I encounter some obstacles.

Find my config file here.

Below is result.

true_color

Theme is gruvbox in vim and gruvbox for tmux. Font is FantasqueSansMono.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Keep Learn.

I encounter some frustration whenever I found how much I need to learn. Always realize the reality is crude. I even thought that what I should take is never think about how much left, but how much I had done. Finding how to keep myself... Continue →