Try Meteor.

I try to clone my previous site using Meteor. More specifically, I learn Meteor by reading Discover Meteor and try to build a site.

Discover Meteor is a good book, I just read 1/3 of it. Even it have some plugins is not updated, the book explain the idea of Meteor very clearly. I personally recommend this book.

But by learn something in the hard way is never a smooth task. I try to have something changed to update with current plugin. Like to replace router with Iron-Router. It’s not easy. The syntax is different. But because Iron-Router is appeared more positively maintained, I choose to get familiar with it. After some struggling and try-and-error, it comes out good to its functionality.

So far what I think most important needed feature is CSS file management. Because it’s highly related to the layout, it’s should be more manageable. I think it should be higher priority, in designer’s perspective.

But I am not designer. As a coder, I think I need to have more time to get familiar with optimization. I just try to publish a collection and try to minimize the size of collection passing to client. Currently I still need to bag almost all of collection objects to client, and wait for client’s choice to give what he want. This way will significantly increase the loading time, especially in Mobile browsing.

Because it’s dramatically slower than Sinatra’s version, I think it need some optimized. But I have another part need to finish. So let finish the book first.

I really need tips to minimize the collection before passing to client, otherwise the speed is not acceptable. Hope there’s a way.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

StartPoint

Recently I create this blog. The start point is that I found the discussion thread in Hackernews. What source code is worth studying? I like this thread. Because I have desire to learn more about coding. One way is to code more, which I... Continue →