When it need expansion …

Recently, I need some kind of upgrade or expansion request from my boss. Originally I have two kinds of items. And the request is to add three kinds of display/view from one property of the item.

I have not much experience in Design Pattern, not to mention the application time of DP. When I got the request, I feel that I need to have kind of Refactoring. I know the classical book but not read it yet, and notice one great website and not finish reading it yet.

But I need to do it, anyway, in SHORT time.

Often we got the task in hand and without time to do a full learning or even survey before start it. We just need to do it based whatever we know/have now. In this moment.

Today I have another request. I need to add one more item. Simple, but not that easy. This item have slightly different property from previous two and in fact I decide to disable the support of three kinds of display/view to this new item.

I want to get a good use of my knowledge of Design Pattern. But at last, what I can have a good use is the concept, not the pattern itself. Maybe that’s because the case I have is Website design, but the reason should be that I have to use whatever I have in hand. I need to survey the feature what Sinatra support and see what I can use.

But I want to say, it’s the first time I know the important to learn Design Pattern. Not in the communication way. The more I know the pattern and concept, I have more possibility to generate good solution to the task. It’s kind of preparation. The more you learn in the past, the more possibility to have good solution in hand.

Whenever you get the task.

Keep learning.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Start new website for LINE Sticker 3rd-Party seller

I start to work with my relatives who host online business provider. Recently I start to start to work with them as Software Engineer. And I focus in LINE Sticker business currently. Previously, whenever LINE publish new stickers, our... Continue →